The Science Fiction Book I Asked For

I’m sure that’s not why it got written, but I did ask for it.

I can highly recommend Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance by Lois McMaster Bujold. Actually I can recommend the entire Vorkosigan saga, starting with Cordelia’s Honor.

The series doesn’t exactly end with the most recent book published. Chronologically, the last book in that universe’s time-line is Cryoburn.

Anyway, shortly after A Civil Campaign was published, I went on Baen’s Bar (a forum on the Baen publishing website) and thought since Ivan Vorpatril managed to have a major role in things working out in that story, it might be good if there was a story centered on him. I’m sure I wasn’t the only one to have that thought. (Ivan was mostly around for the comic relief, but he usually managed to do something constructive. I thought it was time for him to graduate.)

And so we have the latest novel. If you are a fan of the Vorkosigan Universe, I highly recommend this latest entry. If you aren’t familiar with the series, I suggest starting with either Cordelia’s Honor, or with Young Miles. Most people start with Young Miles, an omnibus edition of 2 novels and a short story, that revolve around Miles Vorkosigan – the hero of most of the stories. Cordelia’s Honor deals with his parents. Most people read that one later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Science Fiction Book I Asked For

  1. I am hoping that I get that book for Christmas. I’ve even re-read all the Vorkosigan books since Borders of Infinity. I was also glad that Ivan is getting more time, being less of a clown.

Comments are closed.