One Man’s Ad Campaign is Another Man’s Malware Exploit

Forbes wants you to disable ad blockers in order to view “Forbes 30 under 30” list. (It, ironically includes one prominent computer security researcher.) As soon as you do disable the ad-blocker, you get served a “steaming pile of malware.” You say advertising, I say block that malware. Thanks Forbes, but I will be keeping my ad-blockers in place.

The media outlets aren’t running their own ads, but selling “space” on their pages to ad companies. The ad companies can’t be bothered to police the advertisers, so you get malware served up to BILLIONS of people.

The ad networks clearly don’t have a handle on this at all, giving us one more reason to use ad blockers. They’re practically the most popular malware delivery systems on Earth, and they’re making the websites they do business with into the same poisonous monster.

I have no problem with ads. I do have a problem with ubiquitous tracking. And I really have a problem with malware. (Been there. Done that. Not interested.) Also most ads are just plain stupid.

There’s a reason why users use ad blockers after all: many online ads suck harder than a vacuum cleaner looking for love.

uBlock Origin can be added to Chrome (and other Chromium browsers) and Firefox (and other Gecko-based browsers) and Safari. Look under “add ons,” or extensions. I use it (on the recommendation of several folks I trust).

3 thoughts on “One Man’s Ad Campaign is Another Man’s Malware Exploit

  1. I agree – if they didn’t buy bulk ads that are annoying, irrelevant, and potentially dangerous, my ad blocker wouldn’t concern or affect them.

Comments are closed.