Denial Ain’t Just a River in Egypt – It apparently runs through Chicago as well

Every once in a while I have a post about neighbors being shocked that crime can happen in their neighborhood. But you would think the citizens of Chicago would know that they live in a really crime-filled locale. They don’t. Supermarket In Chicago Cop Neighborhood Robbed At Gunpoint « CBS Chicago

Edison Park is home to several Chicago police officers and a grocery store called Happy Foods.

“You would have never thought it would have happened here,” Leticia Alvarez, a store employee, says of the incident that occurred Friday afternoon.

Let me get this straight. You live in what is arguably the MOST DANGEROUS CITY in America, and you are surprised to discover that you live in an area with crime. That is denial of astronomical proportions.

If you are reading this, you live in the Real World™, and in the Real World, you can be the victim of crime. Crime is not something that happens to “other kinds of people,” in “other kinds of places.” That is true no matter where you live. But you would think that the good citizens of Chicago would know that. They don’t.

Alvarez was bagging groceries.

“I was in shock at first. I couldn’t believe it. It just hit me — ‘Oh, my god, we just got robbed,’” she says

5 thoughts on “Denial Ain’t Just a River in Egypt – It apparently runs through Chicago as well

  1. Actually, Edison Park is about 10 miles away from the dangerous parts of Chicago, with no direct bus, el, or highway connection, and violent crime is extremely rare. That’s why so many city workers live there.
    Take a look at a Chicago crime map. Eighty percent of the violent crime happens in about 10 of the city’s 76 neighborhoods.None of them are on the Far Northwest Side where Edison Park is.
    Your statement is like saying, Why would anyone be surprised at being robbed in Petoskey, Michigan, when Detroit is in Michigan, too?
    Why do you hate Chicago?

  2. Even if you live in Petoskey Michigan, you can be the victim of crime.

    And I don’t hate Chicago, I just hate what the powers-that-be have turned it into.

  3. I agree, but crime in Petoskey is rare, just like it is in Rogers Park.
    I also agree that the politicians are flushing Chicago down the toilet, but parts of it are still livable and still worth saving.

    • 10 years ago I might have agreed with you. I still have family in suburban Chicago, and it used to be that when I visited I always planned a day in the city – at least the museums, or maybe the lakefront. But not any more.

      It isn’t worth it to me to pay $20 per hour (or more) to park downtown.

      As for the direction of the city… property taxes are going to go up. A lot. Eventually the city will have to raise money for the all those pensions they promised but didn’t fund. And personally I don’t want to see any city become “too big to fail.” Have a bankruptcy, clear out the bloated union contracts. And start again.

      Of course as the taxes go up the people and the businesses leave. In the 1980s I was part of team that moved a company’s data-center out of the city to the western burbs. Savings on the head tax, the sales tax related to consumables (in the 80s we printed a LOT of reports on paper, and that was all taxed at Chicago’s rate – which wasn’t 10 percent but was still higher than the surrounding counties.) and a few other things (Like the electrical codes that outlawed the use of power-strips. (You need more outlets for your computer/printer/desk lamp/pager-charger/whatever, you had to call an electrician.) Anyway we used the savings from 1 year to pay for the move. And the savings in follow on years fell straight to the bottom line.

      I can’t imagine that the business environment has gotten better after another 30 years of leftist Democrat rule.

      As for my fascination with the behavior of Chicago PD. In my youth I saw enough of that behavior directed at friends to know that Officer Friendly didn’t live in the 312 area code. Gay bashings were always a bad situation. If you wanted to make it worse, all you had to do was call 911. Of course the cops usually wouldn’t show. Why would they want to help of bunch of fags and dykes? Short answer – they wouldn’t. (And if the cops don’t show to a violent crime, neither will the paramedics. It is a dangerous situation after all.) On the few occasions where they did show up. It was better than even odds that they would make the situation worse. (And it wasn’t a “few bad apples.” It was every damn cop on the force. They hated queers almost as much as they hated blacks.)

      They haven’t gotten better. They have gotten a little better at hiding. Homan Square is just a continuation of the policies that made Jon Burge and the “Midnight Crew from Area 2” such a scourge in the 70s and 80s.

  4. As for crime… I live outside a village smaller than Petoskey, Michigan. I recognize there can be crime here. I also have the right – encouraged by local law enforcement as the County Sheriff is a member of the NRA – to defend myself from any bad guys. So while I probably have a lower chance of encountering crime than folks in Edison Park, if crime were to happen on my street I wouldn’t be a shocked neighbor. I would just hope the innocent involved were able to defend themselves.

    I also have to recognize that since I do live in the boondocks, even if I can call 911 before bad things happen, it is going to take the local constabulary considerable time to get to my location. I don’t intend to just wait – because I might have to wait for the rest of my life. Even being home with the doors locked, there are defensive weapons available to me. (For my thoughts on that subject see the category Calling 911). As for the nature of my reply to hostile intent – see the title of this blog.

Comments are closed.