Student Beaten on Chicago EL as Witnesses Just Watch

Kitty Genovese was not available for comment. DePaul Student Beaten On Blue Line As Witnesses Just Watch

Maybe it is just a city-dweller thing. You can look at someone being beaten (or in the case of Genovese, hear her screams) and do nothing.

The DePaul University student is 19-years-old. She was attacked for her iPhone, at ten o’clock in the morning while riding a commuter train.

“He jumps up from his chair, and goes on top of me, and asks me for my phone, but my phone was in my pocket, and I had my headphones on, so he was yanking at my headphones, and then he pushed me to the floor, and then started beating on my head,” she said. “He bit me on my left hand.”

If that isn’t a sign of civilization fraying around the edges, I don’t know what is.

You have something, and someone else decides it should be theirs. Because – social justice. Or whatever. And no one comes to the aid of a young woman in distress? They just “look on,” and do nothing. I think we have reached that point (or we are getting close) where life is “nasty, brutish, and short.”

(Bets on whether students on DePaul campus are allowed to be armed? Not that this woman would be armed. Right-thinking Chicagoans don’t go armed! Actually the whole of Chicago – even given the recent court cases – is still mostly a defenseless-victim zone.)

One thought on “Student Beaten on Chicago EL as Witnesses Just Watch

  1. I shouldn’t have to provide footnotes, but here they are anyway.

    Kitty Genovese was murdered in New York City in 1964 while a whole building full of people listened to her screams, and did nothing.

    Leviathan by Thomas Hobbes (published 1651)

    “Whatsoever therefore is consequent to a time of Warre, where every man is Enemy to every man; the same is consequent to the time, wherein men live without other security, than what their own strength, and their own invention shall furnish them withall. In such condition, there is no place for Industry; because the fruit thereof is uncertain; and consequently no Culture of the Earth; no Navigation, nor use of the commodities that may be imported by Sea; no commodious Building; no Instruments of moving, and removing such things as require much force; no Knowledge of the face of the Earth; no account of Time; no Arts; no Letters; no Society; and which is worst of all, continuall feare, and danger of violent death; And the life of man, solitary, poore, nasty, brutish, and short.”

Comments are closed.