Windows 10 Is Morphing Into Adware, Bloatware and Malware

“If you were wondering whether Microsoft could inflict even more damage to Windows’ reputation, the answer is yes.” More forced advertising creeps into Windows 10 Pro. Whiskey. Tango. Uniform.

Starting Aug. 2, admins will not be able to keep Microsoft from pushing the likes of Candy Crush Soda Saga onto Win10 Pro PCs on their networks because certain Group Policies will be deactivated

Because what do people who pay extra for the “professional” version of an operating system want? More ads. I wonder how long it will be until the ads become of the Not Safe For Work variety, or the start downloading spyware, like so many ads before them. Oh, but wait, Windows 10 was free – if you paid for Windows 7 or 8.

And it isn’t just ads, as Microsoft will install stuff that it thinks you should have on your machine.

I can’t find an official list of “consumer experiences,” but they include a lot of tiles for crapware that’s now being installed by Microsoft on new machines. My list is pretty impressive. Here are the crapware app tiles I’ve seen installed by Microsoft on my test machines, apparently as part of the Windows 10 consumer experience: Candy Crush Soda Saga, Flipboard, Adobe Photoshop Express, iHeartRadio, USA Today, Twitter (the official app), Farmville 2, World of Tanks Blitz, Duolingo, and Pandora. Microsoft’s also pushed tiles for its own Minecraft, Get Office, and Solitaire Collection.

A piece of software that is installed on my machine, that I don’t want, and that I have not asked for nor OKed, is malware. But that is pretty much how I have looked at Windows 10 since Microsoft started trying to cram it down my throat.

So now we know how MS intends to monetize the “free” world of Windows 10. Proving once again, “There ain’t no such thing as a free lunch.”

