Minimum Wage Hike Drives Up Cost of Childcare – to be paid by parents

I guess mathematics really is hard. And economics? Forget about it! No one understands that. Childcare costs skyrocket after minimum wage hike passes | Spokane – KXLY.com

Before her phone call, it’s something we hadn’t thought of – and, apparently, some voters hadn’t either.

They have to pay workers more. So they have to charge more. What exactly did you think was going to happen? (The unicorns stopped pooping money for worthy causes many years ago. I know, it’s shocking!)

Heidi Perry, director of Advent Child Care, explained that many parents were not happy with the idea of the cost increase. “I think there was a little bit of sticker shock. I had a lot of parents who walked into the office last night or this morning and say ‘am I reading this right?’ And I said yes you are.”

Costs for this church-run childcare facility will go up $300 per month, per child.

We reached out to several other daycares in the area, one says they haven’t even addressed this yet and another said the tuition increase is inevitable.

Go figure.

