Sunshine Skyway Bridge

I’ve driven over this bridge dozens of times – when I lived on the south side of the bay, I would drive north to visit friends. I suppose if I commuted everyday, it would get to be old-hat, but it is still an interesting experience to drive. (The road bed is 195 feet – or so – above the water over the main shipping channel.)

The current bridge was built in 1982 through 1987, after the previous bridge was destroyed when one of the supports was struck by a ship on May 9, 1980 at 7:30 AM, just in time for the morning commute. (Info on the disaster is after the break.)

The following video contains the audio recording of the US Coast Guard coverage of the Mayday call by MV Summit Venture, and a few other vessels, and the video documents some of the results of the accident.

