Is it just me, or do you think this “warehouse” fire is getting more attention than if it happened in Alabama?

I mean it is right around the corner from UC Berkley and a bunch of “young people” died. But I can’t help feeling that if it wasn’t so much in the middle of the Left Coast, that it would be ignored. (I mean it is right around the corner – practically – from WKQED.)

So I don’t have time to do a complete search, but I did find a couple of fires that were completely ignored.

There was a fire in a hospital in Odisha, India. 25 people died. (Granted it was in India, not Indiana.) The fire started in the intensive care unit, and spread. Several hospital administrators were charged. I have no idea if they have come to trial yet.

13 “youths” died in a fire that was started by birthday-cake candles in a bar in Rouen, France. This one really convinces me that the issue with the California fire is that it is in California, and not the horror at dead “young people.”

But I’m a cynic.

One thought on “Is it just me, or do you think this “warehouse” fire is getting more attention than if it happened in Alabama?

Comments are closed.