Arbor Day – The Last Friday in April

It was in response to the demise of all the ash trees in the past few years that I decided I needed to do something this year. In the few years I’ve lived in my house 8 trees have come down thanks to the Emerald Ash Borer. Another is dead and will come down this year. One was barely alive last year, but I don’t hold out much hope for this year.

So to replace what was lost, I have planted a bunch of bare-root saplings. They are finally releasing Dutch Elm disease-resistant American Elms. Of the 10 elm trees I planted, I may get 8. 2 of 4 Paw Paws (a fruit tree native to this area). One (maybe 2) Amelanchier out of 4 planted. (Also known as Shadblow Serviceberry.) And 7 or 8 hazelnuts – out of 10. Not too bad.

Of course being bare-root seedlings, they are small, and still require a lot of looking after – water on the hot days and dry spells between rain.

Looking over the yard, the squirrels have also been busy. At least 4 pin Oaks have been planted around the yard. 2 are about an inch in diameter, one is a seedling, and one is a couple of inches in diameter and going on 10 feet tall.

Of all the people marching on Earth Day, I wonder if any of them actually did anything constructive.

One thought on “Arbor Day – The Last Friday in April

  1. “Of all the people marching on Earth Day, I wonder if any of them actually did anything constructive.”

    Heh. A very interesting question.

Comments are closed.