The Mess That is Illinois. SiGraybeard says it better than I could

I have family in Illinois that are dependent on pensions, so I can’t even think rationally when it comes to the insanity. I’m just incensed. The Silicon Graybeard: The One Factoid About the Illinois Mess You Can’t Miss

I will highlight one thing that he “isn’t saying” and say it plain. There is a LOT of corruption in Illinois politics.

I’m not saying it’s related to the fact that as soon as I started to type “Illinois politicians pension promises” into my search bar, before I finished the second word it offered to autocomplete with “Illinois politicians in jail”. As the saying goes, I’m not not saying it either.

4 of the last 7 Illinois governors did time in jail. Mostly for federal corruption, and some for stuff they did after they left public office. (You remember Rod Blagojevich, I’m sure.)

Then there is Tony Rezko, who should have been a millstone around Obama’s neck, but the media wouldn’t report on it. Rezko – who did favors for Illinois politicians on both sides of the divide, helped Obama buy a house in Chicago. The deal was shady, and a lot of people thought it amounted to a “gift” of some size, but by the time anyone cared, Obama was in Washington, and Rezko was in prison.

Rezko’s behind-the-scenes connection in the Obama house deal became public as Rezko revealed personal financial details as he sought to post bail.

While Rezko’s wife paid the full asking price for the land, Obama paid $300,000 under the asking price for the house. The house sold for $1,650,000 and the price Rezko’s wife paid for the land was $625,000.

That “piece of land” was adjacent to the Obama house, and Rezko later sold some of it to the Obama family. Water under the bridge at this point.

For a rundown of the History of Illinois Political Shenanigans see the post I wrote in 2009. Pay particular attention to the part about Paul Powell. His story tells you everything you need to know about politics in The Land of Lincoln.

“There’s only one thing worse than a defeated politician, and that’s a broke one.” – Paul Powell, one-time Illinois Secretary of State.

When Powell died, in 1970, $800,000 in cash was found in his lodging. In suitcases, and shoe-boxes.

3 thoughts on “The Mess That is Illinois. SiGraybeard says it better than I could

  1. You should all write to you Congresscritters because someone, somewhere is going to suggest that the federal .gov bailout the Great State of Illinois, and then California, et al will have their hands out.

  2. Thank you, but I don’t think I said it better than you could.

    I didn’t address the corruption issue anywhere near enough. Although it’s not limited to Illinois, there’s some sort of positive feedback loop between politicians and civil employees unions. The best known example is probably SEIU, but I think it affects them all. The state politicians agree to union demands, which is shoveling taxpayer money to the unions, and the unions shovel some of that money back to the politicians to get them reelected. They exchange taxpayer money until it all breaks and falls apart.

    • Well you specifically didn’t cover corruption. Where I have most of those stats and stories running around in my head all the time.

      People were always surprised at the way I felt about Obama, when they didn’t know anything about him. But he was a Chicago politician in the Illinois State House long before he was in the Senate. Between that and the mess with Rezko…

Comments are closed.