Godzilla: The 2014 Edition

I love a good monster movie, but the 1998 version of Godzilla was SO bad, I passed on the 2014 version. It was a mistake. Turns out it’s a pretty good monster movie. And a VERY good Godzilla movie. Aside from the original Japanese Gojira from 1954 – which if you can find a version (NOT the Raymond Burr, American Movie Industry monstrosity) is worth a look – this might be the best Godzilla movie ever. Most of the 1950s/1960s Godzilla franchise were just awful. (Though there was some humor in the series. More on that below.)

The 2014 movie had problems. But most “blockbusters” do.

The sequel, Godzilla: King of Monsters, is due out next year. It could be good, and it could be bad. In the meantime, here’s the 2014 Trailer

As for that humor one of my favorite scenes from the original franchise is after the break. And a Godzilla-inspired song.

Son of Godzilla – the son (Minilla or Minya) playing jump-rope with Dad’s tail, and Dad just wanting to sleep. (Godzilla teaching Minya to breath fire is better, but I couldn’t find a high-def clip of that.)

This is “Godzilla” by Blue Oyster Cult from the 1977 album Specters. It was released in 1978 as a single. (When YouTube trips over the privacy-extensions in your browser, use the links provided.)

2 thoughts on “Godzilla: The 2014 Edition

  1. I saw the 1998 Godzilla in the theater with my 11-year-old daughter, You’re right about it. I guess I’ll have to check out the 2014 version. BOC’s “Godzilla” is one of my favorite songs. I “taught” my daughter’s dolls to sing it (so to speak. Parents know what I mean.) History shows again and again…

    Like

    • It is probably the best treatment of Godzilla since the original Gojira. (Which is an excellent movie if you can find the original, and not the Raymond-Burr-Bastardized cut made by suits in the American Movie Business.)

      They treat it seriously. Even the 1998 version was campy. Though it wasn’t as campy as the stuff from the 1960s/1970s.

      Like

Comments are closed.